So, this morning I received my first piece of “FriendFeed spam”. It takes the form of an invitation to join a group. The invitation is from a complete stranger, and doesn’t seem to have any reasonable connection to be at all. I suppose my userid was scraped from comments posted somewhere else on FriendFeed. The invitation looks like this:
Message from Lyn:
I’d like to invite you to join the “Typography” room on FriendFeed, a
place for us to share and discuss things. I hope you’ll join the
room. You can check it out here:http://friendfeed.com/rooms/typography
——
To join the “Typography” room on FriendFeed, visit
http://friendfeed.com/rooms/typography
To see Lyn’s FriendFeed, check out http://friendfeed.com/flynxs
If you have any questions, please contact feedback@friendfeed.com.
Thanks,
Your friends at FriendFeed
And, I briefly looked through “Lyn’s FriendFeed” and didn’t see anything interesting — just lots of marginally weird posts and comments on things. I didn’t investigate to see if the typography room seemed ‘real’ or not.
(Yes, I bet if I actually log into friendfeed.com I can find the link to disable this sort of e-mail notification)